J. Russell (Rusty) May, Pharm.D., FASHP

J. Russell May, Pharm.D. is a Clinical Professor in the Department of Clinical and Administrative Pharmacy at the University of Georgia College of Pharmacy.  Prior to his move to academia full time in 2003, Dr. May was a drug information specialist and clinical manager in the Pharmacy Department at the Medical College of Georgia (MCG) Health System (now AU Medical Center) for 22 years, including serving as Director of Pharmacy from 1998 to 2003.  Since graduating from the University of Kentucky Pharm.D. and Hospital Residency Programs in 1981, Dr. May has focused his practice in the areas of drug information and drug policy development.  He is a Past Chair and current member of the Drug Utilization Review Board for the Georgia Department of Community Health.

He currently serves on the Residency Advisory Council for the PGY-1 and three PGY-2 (critical care, oncology, and pediatrics) programs at AU Medical Center (co-sponsored by the University of Georgia College of Pharmacy).  In 2007, he was named Teacher of the Year at the University of Georgia College of Pharmacy.  He is a Fellow of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists and has served on the ASHP Executive Committee of the Section of Clinical Specialists and the ASHP Commission on Credentialing.   He is a past president of the Georgia Society of Health System Pharmacists.  Dr. May has served as a visiting professor at Misr International University in Cairo Egypt and assisted with the development of their Drug Information Center. Dr. May was the recipient of the 2014 Distinguished Drug Information Practitioner Award from the American College of Clinical Pharmacy.




Susan C. Fagan, Pharm.D., BCPS, FCCP

Dr. Susan Fagan has been a Professor of Pharmacy at the University of Georgia, and adjunct Professor of Neurology at the Medical College of Georgia in Augusta, Georgia since 1999.  Prior to her position there, she spent 13 years on the faculty of Wayne State University and Henry Ford Hospital in Detroit, Michigan where she rose to rank of professor. She received her BSc in Pharmacy from Dalhousie University in Halifax, Nova Scotia and her Doctor of Pharmacy degree from SUNY at Buffalo. She completed a 2-year fellowship in Neuropharmacology at the Dent Neurologic Institute in Buffalo, NY after which she joined the faculty at Wayne State University. She is currently a Fellow of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy and the American Heart Association Stroke Council and a board-certified pharmacotherapy specialist. She is recognized nationally and internationally for her research in stroke and has more than 150 publications. Her research in clinical and experimental therapeutics of stroke is funded by the National Institutes of Health and the Veterans Affairs Merit Review. She is a current member and past chair of the Research Institute Board of Trustees for ACCP and served as elected Regent from 1996-1999. Dr. Fagan is now Associate Head and Assistant Dean of the UGA College of Pharmacy. In April, 2013 she was named Distinguished Research Professor of the University of Georgia and became Assistant Dean and founding director of the Center for Pharmacy and Experimental Therapeutics at the Medical College of Georgia, Augusta University.