Find a Doctor

Last Name: 
First Name: 

De Rossi, Scott S., DMD

Administrative Title: 
Chairman, Diagnostic Sciences
Oral Medicine
Overview Clinical Interests Locations Video

Faculty Title

  • Associate Professor

Medical Degree

  • University of Pennsylvania


  • University of Pennsylvania


  • University of Pennsylvania


  • University of Pennsylvania


  • TMJ and Muscle Pain Disorders
  • Dry mouth and Sjogren Syndrome
  • Burning Mouth Syndrome
  • Facial pain and neuralgias
  • Headache and migraine
  • Oral lesions
  • Oral complications of cancer therapy


  • English

Board Info

  • American Board of Oral Medicine - Certified

Dr. DeRossi received his D.M.D. from the University Of Pennsylvania School Of Dental Medicine in 1995 and completed his post-doctoral training in Oral Medicine at the University Of Pennsylvania Medical Center in 1997. Dr. DeRossi has had a practice limited to Oral Medicine for over 15 years. He achieved Diplomate status from the American Board of Oral Medicine in 1999.

He is currently an Associate Professor of Oral Medicine, Director of the Clinical Center for Oral Medicine and Chairman of Oral Health and Diagnostic Sciences at the Georgia Health Sciences University College of Dental Medicine. He holds joint faculty appointments in the Departments of Dermatology and Otolaryngology/Head and Neck Surgery in the Medical College of Georgia.

Prior to joining the Faculty of MCG, he was Assistant Professor of Oral Medicine at the University Of Pennsylvania School Of Dental Medicine, Director of the Oral Medicine Residency Program and was a past recipient of the distinguished Earl Bank Hoyt teaching award at the University of Pennsylvania in his first year as standing faculty.

Dr. DeRossi is a co-author of the Burket’s Oral Medicine textbook and has lectured and published numerous scientific articles, textbook chapters, and monographs on all aspects of Oral Medicine including TMD and oro-facial pain, medically complex patients, salivary gland disorders and oral mucosal diseases. In 2011, he received the distinguished Innovation in Oral Care Award from the International Association for Dental Research.